cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
If you’ve changed your email address, now's the perfect time to update it on your Dropbox account and we’re here to help! Learn more here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Search in Dropbox does not work

Dropbox not searchable in MacOS Ventura 13.1

ptetta
Helpful | Level 6
Go to solution

Since the recent Dropbox update, I can no longer search for files in Dropbox on my Mac.  I have been using Dropbox for over 10 years and have never had this problem before.  It's making life extremely difficult and making me think about moving entirely to Google Drive, although I don't really like Google that much.  But at least it's free, whereas I am now paying Dropbox for a less functional service than I had previously.

Does anyone know how to get this function back?

56 Replies 56

Megan
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @cseow, thanks for the added info! 

Could you also provide a couple of screenshots of the behavior you described above, in order for me to have a visual of this? 

Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

sawin1
Explorer | Level 3
Go to solution

Today I had the opposite issue. I searched something within a Finder window, limited to a location outside of Dropbox (i.e. the Downloads folder) and it showed up results, that were moved to the Dropbox folder before.

Needless to say, it should have not shown those results anymore...