cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
If you’ve changed your email address, now's the perfect time to update it on your Dropbox account and we’re here to help! Learn more here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: File Request uploads now adding then deleting

Files uploaded via file request are added and then, almost immediately, deleted.

PtboPete
Explorer | Level 3

Hi all, long time user here running a fresh install of Windows 10 Pro and up to date Dropbox Basic with 20 Gb storage. I have been using file requests for several years with no problems. In that time people have sent me between 1-10 files. I just created a new request and told people to drag and drop a folder which contains between 100 to 500 files. Tonight the first person sent in their folder containing 180 files. Inside the request folder, their folder showed up followed by the first file. After that the next file would show up briefly in my computer and then disappear. This went on for the remaining 178 files. I went online and hit the deleted files and there they all were. I then recovered all the files and they all showed up in the online folder and within a short time they showed on my computer.

In trying to determine the problem I uploaded my own folder with 590 files and the same thing happened. I recovered all files and then they stuck and made it to my computer.

I have several other people that will upload their files in the next few days and wish to not have this problem. Maybe a reboot would solve the issue but it seems to be on the Dropbox server as they were all being deleted on the server after briefly showing on my computer and poof, gone.

Anyone willing to take a stab at this anomaly?

17 Replies 17

Walter
Dropbox Staff