cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know what we learned at IBC? Check out our learnings on media, remote working and more right here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox has taken over files into my PC, and how I can restore them

Dropbox has taken over files into my PC, and how I can restore them

dsm5
Helpful | Level 5

I bought a new PC a couple of years ago and decided it would be a good idea to install Dropbox.  I am not a techie and somehow every single document and file that I have created, despite being saved to my PC, was also saved in dropbox.
I really did not want this to happen as I wanted to keep dropbox for the important and quick-to-access stuff.
The really bad news was that it also decided to transfer massive historic files into itself without my wanting it too, hence the knotweed analogy - I simply couldn't find a means of stopping it as none of the google search steps matched what I was seeing in dropbox. There was no 'pause syncing' button.

Today I deleted a few unwanted files but decided to remove the software from my desktop.  

Every single file that I had saved to my PC has been removed, this even though they were only meant to be saved on my PC, not in dropbox.

I accessed the app and emailed certain files to myself but they cannot be downloaded.  How is this even possible?
What's the solution to:

1. Preventing dropbox from stealing every piece of my data and storing it in itself if / when I re-install it?

2. Recovering my spreadsheets etc without manually reconstructing them?  That would take days and a huge amount of lost income.

Thanks if you have read this far.

18 Replies 18

Rich
Super User II

@dsm5 wrote: