cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Musicians, convert your MuseScore files to PDF to play music on the go! Learn more here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refresh Token for Python Project

Refresh Token for Python Project

masonml
New member | Level 2

Hi all,

I'm unfamiliar with APIs and this is my first project of this type so any help is appreciated. I've written a python code that uploads an image from a camera to my Dropbox app. The code works fine, but I'm struggling with the OAuth portion as I need a permanent access code since I will be away from the code/computer while the code is running. 

I ran the code below with my app keys:

import dropbox
from dropbox import DropboxOAuth2FlowNoRedirect

'''
This example walks through a basic oauth flow using the existing long-lived token type
Populate your app key and app secret in order to run this locally
'''
APP_KEY = ""
APP_SECRET = ""

auth_flow = DropboxOAuth2FlowNoRedirect(APP_KEY, APP_SECRET)

authorize_url = auth_flow.start()
print("1. Go to: " + authorize_url)
print("2. Click \"Allow\" (you might have to log in first).")
print("3. Copy the authorization code.")
auth_code = input("Enter the authorization code here: ").strip()

try:
oauth_result = auth_flow.finish(auth_code)
except Exception as e:
print('Error: %s' % (e,))
exit(1)

with dropbox.Dropbox(oauth2_access_token=oauth_result.access_token) as dbx:
dbx.users_get_current_account()
print("Successfully set up client!")

The client was successfully set up after I entered the key from my browser, but no refresh token appeared on Dropbox. I attempted again on a different computer (I was testing the code on my laptop, which is not the computer that will be running the code, and received this error: