cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Musicians, convert your MuseScore files to PDF to play music on the go! Learn more here.

Delete, edit, and organize

Solve issues with deleting, editing, and organizing files and folders in your Dropbox account with support from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Files Shared Between Computers; "Make available offline" & "Make online-only"

Files Shared Between Computers; "Make available offline" & "Make online-only"

astokesmusic
Explorer | Level 3

Hello all. I'm a music producer and I work between two different Mac computers (a Mac mini desktop setup and a MacBook Pro for when I'm on the go). I'm currently using a folder inside of Dropbox to store all of my DAW song files (DAW stands for "Digital Audio Workstation"; it is the software I use to produce my music and save those song files into Dropbox). 

I've been confused about something concerning the way Dropbox handles the relationship of my song files between computers. I tried putting all of my song files in "Make online-only" mode. At first, I thought this would work, but I ran into an issue with my production software. Recently, the software started notifying me that many of my song files are either broken or unreadable. I studied about this online a bit and I believe it has something to do with the files being set to "Make online-only" in Dropbox. I really wanted to keep the files online and work that way if possible, so that I could save some internal drive storage on both of my Macs, but I've realized now that I probably can't do that and I'll need to set both of my Macs to make files in Dropbox "available offline."