cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know what we learned at IBC? Check out our learnings on media, remote working and more right here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Confused with Dropbox. Can you clarify some things about syncing, storage and accessing my accou

Confused with Dropbox. Can you clarify some things about syncing, storage and accessing my account?

OldTimeMusician
Explorer | Level 3

I am new to Dropbox as of yesterday. Although reasonably tech savvy with various software, I am getting confused. None of the videos on YouTube explain in quite the right way.

I have a Dropbox account and a folder visible in File Explorer. I seem to be able to either open DB by googling it, or I can open the folder in FE.

I have paid for 2tb. I have managed to transfer folders of photos from my PC to the DB folder in FE by dragging and dropping but I keep getting a message that it is full but when look at my usage in the dashboard, it hardly registers. Is DB simply another folder in FE or do I have to access it by googling then opening the site. If this is all too long winded, perhaps someone could point me at a very simple and detailed guide which I can use, to save bothering you folks on here. Sorry, but the frustration is showing!

6 Replies 6

Mark
Super User II

Hi @OldTimeMusician 

Welcome!

Is it Dropbox or your computer complaining it is full? My suspicions are that it is the computer. Dropbox is a folder on your machine like any other - and so crucially it uses up space (unless its told not to AFTER files have uploaded!). However, that means if you have data elsewhere on a machine and copy it to Dropbox it could take up 2x the volume of data on the drive.