cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know what we learned at IBC? Check out our learnings on media, remote working and more right here.

Settings and Preferences

The Dropbox Community is here to help if you have questions about your account settings and preferences. Learn and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need to add an email address as secondary, but it's already in use.

I need to add an email address as secondary, but it's already in use.

amymcc
New member | Level 2

Hi! I'm an independent contractor for a company, and I set up a Dropbox account with my new email address. However, I upgraded my freelance business account to Dropbox Plus and would like to make the contractor email a secondary email on that upgraded account. That way, I'll be able to see files/folders shared with either email address in Dropbox, and the upgraded plan will give me more storage space and features.

Because the contractor email is already in use with an account, it won't let me add it as a secondary email in the other account. Should I delete that account? It's warning me that deleting the account means I will no longer have access to anything previously shared with that email address. Only a few folders have been shared so far, and I could have someone share them again, but I want to be sure I'm doing this the right way before I do something irreversible.

I appreciate any insights you can provide! Thanks!

1 Reply 1

Nancy
Dropbox Staff

Hi @amymcc! Welcome to our forum and thanks for posting today.

What you mention is correct; to use an email address for your new Dropbox account (even as a secondary one), it’ll need to be disconnected from any other Dropbox account it’s currently linked to.