cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to know what we learned at IBC? Check out our learnings on media, remote working and more right here.

Dropbox API Support & Feedback

Find help with the Dropbox API from other developers.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Python Dropbox API slow performance

Python Dropbox API slow performance

Sadsyndrome
Explorer | Level 3

Hello

Im not a professional programmer..I recently built an app on python running on raspberry pi for monitoring energy usage at home.

it all works fine, I was using Dropbox app to save photo images temporarily. Images are approx 1mb saved every 30 mins and deleted once I have finished with them.

this worked fine for a few hours until my access token expired. After getting a refresh token to resolve that issue it was all working again. However the next day performance dropped for the simple upload of these image files and even a test text file. The upload takes in region of 3 .5 minutes regardless of size of upload or even reading the directory listing.

I assumed this was th refresh token process so downloaded a new access token, but even using that without refresh token the Dropbox ap still takes 3.5 mins for any action??

Any ideas what may cause this? As I said it was working fine until original access token expired and also for a period after I changed it for refresh token? Would it be rate limiting or something like that?

4 Replies 4

Greg-DB
Dropbox Staff

The access token/refresh token shouldn't have any impact on that. The Dropbox API does have a rate limiting system, but it works by responding with a rate limit error response to any call it needs to reject, not by slowing down the connection speed.