cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Musicians, convert your MuseScore files to PDF to play music on the go! Learn more here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I link my old Dropbox folder again to my account after moving to a new device?

Can I link my old Dropbox folder again to my account after moving to a new device?

LaEi
Explorer | Level 3

I am a DropBox Pro user since many years. Lightning destroyed my W7 PC where I had a partition 😧 with a folder named DropBox. The folder was replicated and syncronized with the DropBox cloud.

Now I have a W10 PC without any partitions, only C:. My whole local DropBox folder content survived and is available here. I have installed DropBox but how do I now go about to synchronize files and folders between the cloud and the PC?

8 Replies 8

Rich
Super User II

@LaEi wrote:

I have installed DropBox but how do I now go about to synchronize files and folders between the cloud and the PC?

If you've installed Dropbox, it should already be syncing your files and downloading them from your account online. Is that not happening? Is there anything in your local Dropbox folder (the new one created when you installed Dropbox)? What, exactly, is the issue that you're having?

LaEi
Explorer | Level 3

Thanks for your answer. Under "Users - Noname - Dropbox" I see what I believe to be links to my cloud files, but they are all marked with a gray X. After clicking on any of them the file loads and the corresponding X disappears. My DropBox contains 459 347 files so maybe it just takes a lot of time to resync? Is it possible to move the Dropbox folder from "Users - etc" to any other folder?

Rich
Super User II

@LaEi wrote: