cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you using the Microsoft co-authoring beta for Dropbox? Share your feedback and learn more about it here.

Security and Permissions

Start a discussion in the Dropbox Community forum to get help with your account security and permissions. Find support from Community members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I add end to end encryption on my files?

How do I add end to end encryption on my files?

DanniViolet
Explorer | Level 3

Hello!

I am completely new to Dropbox. After downloading thousands of photos, I discovered that Dropbox doesn't have end to end encryption which is disappointing. I have been told to add my own encryption. Would someone know how I do that please? It doesn't help that technology is not my strong point. Thank you in advance. 

8 Replies 8

Jay
Dropbox Staff

Hi @DanniViolet, thanks for messaging the Community!

End-to-end encryption is generally done by installing a third party program, which encrypts the files on your computer. 

You then add the file to your Dropbox account, and in order to decrypt the file at a later date (or another device), you'll generally need to use the same program to do so.

I'll leave this thread open for suggestions from other users.

Jay
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support

Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

DanniViolet
Explorer | Level 3

Thank you so much Jay. Would you be able to recommend a third party program?

DanniViolet
Explorer | Level 3

Hi!